Urban Barcode Project
Laboratory Support

Open Lab Sessions

Eligible UBP teams may register to attend Open Labs after school and on select Saturdays. To be eligible, each UBP team must have an accepted proposal. Each UBP team must also enter collection data on the Barcode Project Sample Database at least one day prior to their first Open Lab. Teams who fail to enter their data cannot attend Open Labs.

Open Labs are held at the Harlem DNA Lab and DNALC NYC at City Tech in Brooklyn.

Note that you must be logged in to your Teacher/Mentor Portal account to register for Open Labs. Students must be accompanied by their mentors.

Phase Date   Time Location*
DNA Extraction Tuesday December 10, 2019 3:30 pm–6:30 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech
Thursday December 12, 2019 3:30 pm–6:30 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Saturday December 14, 2019 9:00 am–4:00 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Thursday January 9, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Saturday January 11, 2020 9:00 am–4:00 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech
Tuesday January 14, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech
Tuesday January 21, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Thursday January 30, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech
Saturday February 1, 2020 9:00 am–4:00 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech and Harlem DNA Lab
Thursday February 6, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Tuesday February 11, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Thursday February 27, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech
PCR &
Gel Electrophoresis
Saturday March 7, 2020 9:00 am–4:00 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Tuesday March 10, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech
Thursday March 12, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Saturday March 21, 2020 9:00 am–4:00 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech

DNA Sequencing & DNA Subway
Analyzing Results & Creating Posters

Tuesday March 24, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech
Saturday April 4, 2020 9:00 am–4:00 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Tuesday April 7, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm Harlem DNA Lab
Tuesday April 21, 2020 3:30 pm–6:30 pm DNALC NYC at City Tech

DNALC NYC at City Tech, 300 Jay Street, Brooklyn, New York 11201 (Enter at 259 Adams Street) [Get directions]
Harlem DNA Lab, 2351 First Avenue at 120th Street, East Harlem, New York 10035 [Get directions]

 

Footlocker Kits for In-school Use

Footlocker Kits from the Harlem DNA Lab support in-school implementation of Urban Barcode Project labs. Teachers or mentors must submit an online request from their Teacher/Mentor Portal account in order to pick-up the footlocker kit.

Two types of kits are available for loan:

  • Full footlocker kits contain all equipment and replenishable materials needed to complete the DNA extraction, amplification, and gel electrophoresis. Full kits may be borrowed for up to three weeks. Kits should be requested at least 2 weeks in advance because availability is limited.
  • Mini footlocker kits contain reagents and any necessary minor equipment needed by each team. Kits that only require reagents and minimal equipment can be sent to teams for more readily available dates.

Loan Eligibility:

  • Acceptance of a team's proposal is required prior to footlocker kit request submission.
  • Full footlocker kits will not be shipped. All full footlocker kits MUST be picked up at the Harlem DNA Lab.
  • If you are requesting a full footlocker kit, please be aware that a limited number of these kits are available.
  • Each UBP team must have entered collection data on the Barcode Project Sample Database before receiving any materials.
  • To reserve a footlocker kit, log in to your teacher portal account.