Barcode Long Island
Laboratory Support

Have you submitted and received approval for your teams' proposals? Teams with accepted proposals can attend virtual Open Labs with their mentors. Virtual Open Labs will be hosted via Zoom; mentors will receive an email with the Zoom link a few days in advance of the Open Lab. If teams require reagents and/or equipment to process their samples, mentors will also need to register for a footlocker at least two weeks in advance of the Open Lab. Each team must enter collection data on the Barcode Project Sample Database at least one day prior to their first Open Lab. Teams who fail to enter their data cannot attend Open Labs. Note that students and mentors must be present during the Open Lab. Please make sure to select what you plan to do during the session so we can help you prepare.

BLI Virtual Open Labs

Date DNA Isolation & PCR Gel Electrophoresis and Sample Sequencing Preparation Bioinformatics Host Location*
Wednesday, January 20, 2021 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM - - DNALC
Saturday, January 23, 2021 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM - BNL
Wednesday, February 3, 2021 - 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM - DNALC
Thursday, February 18, 2021 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM - - DNALC
Saturday, February 20, 2021 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM - BNL
Thursday, March 4, 2021 - 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM - DNALC
Thursday, March 11, 2021 - - 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM DNALC
Wednesday, March 17, 2021 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM - - BNL
Saturday, March 27, 2021 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM - DNALC
Tuesday, April 13, 2021 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM - - DNALC
Saturday, April 17, 2021 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM - BNL
Tuesday, April 20, 2021 - 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM - DNALC
Wednesday, April 28, 2021 - - 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM DNALC
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM - - DNALC
Wednesday, May 12, 2021 - 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM - DNALC
Saturday, May 15, 2021 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM - BNL
Tuesday, May 25, 2021 - - 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM DNALC

 

 

Footlocker Kits for In-school Use

Acceptance of a team's proposal is required prior to a footlocker kit request. Two types of kits are available for loan:

  • Full footlocker kits contain all equipment and replenishable materials needed to complete the DNA extraction and amplification. Full kits may be borrowed for up to two weeks.
  • Mini footlocker kits contain reagents and any necessary minor equipment needed by each team. Kits that only require reagents and minimal equipment are more readily available than full footlockers kits.

If you are requesting a full footlocker kit, please be aware that a limited number of these kits are available. Footlockers should be requested at least 2 weeks in advance (or sooner) of intended use date. You may borrow a footlocker for up to 10 days.

When you receive the footlocker kit, you must submit a Student Demographic Form for the students who will use the kit. These can be emailed to barcodeli@cshl.edu.

 

*Virtual Open Labs will be hosted by trained staff through the DNA Learning Center or Brookhaven National Laboratory. In-person Open Labs will be considered as the situation evolves.